History of British Dog Classification Linnaeus Buffon Stonehenge
Stonehenge Classification  

Stonehenge (1879) divided the breeds into :

Dogs hunting chiefly by the eye and killing their game for the use of their masters - sight hounds
Dogs hunting by the nose and both finding and killing their game - hounds and terriers
Dogs finding their game by scent but not killing it, being chiefly in aid of the gun - pointers,setters,,spaniels, poodles
Pastoral dogs and those used for draught
Watch-dogs and House-dogs
Cross Breeds including retrievers, bull terrier, Lurcher, dropper.

St Johns

Click image to enlarge
Now the various Kennel Clubs have split the breeds into various groups e.g. the Kennel Club split the breeds into
Hounds; Working; Terrier; Gundog; Pastoral; Utility and Toy groupings.